

On grid y off grid British Indian Ocean Territory

What is the British Indian Ocean territory?

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), is an overseas territory of the United Kingdomsituated in the Indian Ocean halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia, and directly south of the Maldives.

How many islands are in the British Indian Ocean territory?

Map of the British Indian Ocean Territory since 1976. The territory is an archipelago of 58 islandscovering 56 square kilometres (22 sq mi). The largest island is Diego Garcia, which at 32.5 square kilometres (12.5 sq mi) accounts for about half of the territory's total land area.

Are there any permanent settlements in the Indian Ocean territory?

There are no permanent settlements on the islands and the British Indian Ocean Territory is currently inhabited by about 4,000 US and UK military staff and contract personnel. It is administered from London by a Commissioner, who is appointed by the ruling British Monarch.

Where can I find a travel guide for British Indian Ocean territory?

Wikivoyagehas a travel guide for British Indian Ocean Territory. Christian Nauvel,"A Return from Exile in Sight? The Chagossians and their Struggle" (2006) 5 Northwestern Journal of International Human Rights 96-126 Archived 2 March 2011 at the Wayback Machine (retrieved 9 May 2011).

What is the climate like in the British Indian Ocean territory?

The island's climate is heavily moderated by the trade winds which blow over the islands. There are no permanent settlements on the islands and the British Indian Ocean Territory is currently inhabited by about 4,000 US and UK military staff and contract personnel.

Where was the British Indian Ocean territory before the Seychelles independence?

The British Indian Ocean Territory prior to the Seychelles's independence in 1976. The land at bottom left is the northern tip of Madagascar. (Desroches is not labelled,but is a part of the Amirante Islands.) Map of the British Indian Ocean Territory since 1976.

Formerly administered as part of the British Crown Colony of Mauritius, the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) was established as an overseas territory of the UK in 1965. A number of the islands of the territory were later transferred to the Seychelles when it attained independence in 1976.

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is an overseas dependent territory of the United Kingdom that was established in 1965. The BIOT is comprised of six main island groups called the Chagos Archipelago.

Formerly administered as part of the British Crown Colony of Mauritius, the British Indian Ocean Territory



On grid y off grid British Indian Ocean Territory

(BIOT) was established as an overseas territory of the UK in 1965. A number of the islands of the territory were later transferred to the Seychelles when it ...

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia, and directly south of the Maldives. The territory comprises the seven atolls of the Chagos Archipelago with over 1,000 individual islands - many very small - amounting to a total land ...

The British Indian Ocean Territory is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom that was established on November 8, 1965, and is strategically positioned in the heart of the Indian Ocean, approximately midway between East Africa and Indonesia. The territory is situated about 1,770 km east of the island nation of Seychelles and about 2,180 km ...

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is an Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean, halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia. The territory comprises the seven atolls of the Chagos Archipelago with over 1,000 individual islands, many very small, amounting to a total land area of 60 square kilometres (23 square ...



On grid y off grid British Indian Ocean Territory

Web: https://mikrotik.biz.pl

